Peora, Nainital (India Part 2)

Finally getting around to this.

Perhaps I’ll say a few words about what I did here before the photos all appear.

Spending my winter break in India, I volunteered at a non-governmental organisation, Aarohi located in Peora. It’s a village town up in the mountains of Nainital, and the organisation there provides healthcare, schooling by funding through donations and their own ‘livelihood’ programme. I stayed in a homestay, with a local family. What impressed me the most is the perseverance of the community, the tenacity and joy of the people. In my time there, I took some photos of them, as part of of beefing up their future publications, newsletters (e.g. corporate material), and photos for their instagram account -> hopefully, if I have the chance to go back I would be able to devise a better plan for marketing and sales, or perhaps for some academic research on my own.

Nonetheless, the photos are a tribute to the place, and many stories find themselves deeply rooted in the photos; and perhaps, would be better explained by the captions.

Aarohi (17 of 221)

morning, off to school (for them), off to work (for me). this was a fog that greeted me every morning, on my hike up. my hike up was roughly half-an-hour long up, and twenty minutes down.

Aarohi (19 of 221)

cleaning in the morning

Aarohi (3 of 221)

classroom, just before class.

Aarohi (1 of 221)

a morning assembly of sorts, this was a special assembly, that I have yet to discover why.

Aarohi (56 of 221)

studying after school.

Aarohi (128 of 221)

three generations of women, the women of the homestay I was living in

Aarohi (71 of 221)

mother, firewood for the colder evenings.

Aarohi (74 of 221)

daughter, hot water, and heat. she usually prepares the meals after school.

Aarohi (78 of 221)

grandmother, sitting. she’s usually sitting beside a fire by time i get back (the temperature dips significantly)

Aarohi (214 of 221)

elder son, playing cricket. this is when i first learnt the basic rules of cricket. they were using a makeshift ball of sorts.

Aarohi (215 of 221)

younger son, studies and stays outside the household in the next municipality of Almoura. came back for the winter break.

Aarohi (25 of 221)

switching over back to Aarohi, golden bottles of Almond oil that they retail

Aarohi (26 of 221)

a lady at work, dripping liquid gold into bottles

Aarohi (48 of 221)

a similar view, sifting some almond powder (i think?)

Aarohi (142 of 221)

drying flowers, and talking.

Aarohi (144 of 221)

squaring the soap bar by hand

Aarohi (155 of 221)

a rest day for me, but a work day for the women.

dave

a scene to catch on my rest day

Aarohi (125 of 221)

the father of the house brings me for fish shopping (for christmas and the new year), waiting for transport and watching a card game

Aarohi (186 of 221)

buying fish, i still have no idea where this fish comes from. perhaps Nainital?

Aarohi (110 of 221)

back to work, injections. this was to prepare these women for tubal ligation, temporary form of vasectomy encouraged by the government for family planning.

Aarohi (201 of 221)

hairline fracture of sorts.Aarohi (203 of 221)

xray machine. man had case of COPD, bronchitis I think.

Aarohi (113 of 221)

as the day passes, the kids have play time at the end of the day. this is a second grade class- the kids are much more playful.

Aarohi (123 of 221)

rushing home.

Aarohi (9 of 221)

the light falls

Aarohi (152 of 221)

it’s time to leave I guess.

famous people say things better than I do, so

“A bone to the dog is not charity. Charity is the bone shared with the dog, when you are just as hungry as the dog.”
― Jack London

“Behold I do not give lectures or a little charity, when I give I give myself.”
― Walt Whitman